Excellence and achievement

Each spring, the college honors outstanding students, faculty and alumni who embody the ideals of excellence that define Auburn Engineering. We are proud to recognize the academic accomplishments of our students, the dedication of our faculty and the professional success of our alumni. The following students, faculty and alumni were recognized with awards:


Outstanding Student Departmental Awards
Tanner Straker, Aerospace
Matthew Preisser, Biosystems
Madeline Bonifay, Chemical
John Hatfield, Civil
Jack Mullins, Computer Science
Aaron Langham, Electrical and Computer
Greg Artalona, Industrial and Systems
Tommy Britt, Materials
Zachary Lee, Mechanical
Steven Breaux, Polymer and Fiber
Mina Narayanan, Software
Jade Newton, Wireless

Auburn Outstanding Student Engineer Award sponsored by the Alabama Society of Professional Engineers
Matthew Preisser, Biosystems

Samuel Ginn Outstanding Student Award
Tommy Britt, Materials

Frank Vandegrift Co-Op Award
Daylon Hester, Electrical and Computer

Jeff and Linda Stone Leadership Awards
Kasey Cooper, Mechanical
Ransom Creech, Civil
Justin Smith, Chemical
Christian Thompson, Civil

Fred and Mary Lou Birdsong Study Abroad Scholarships
David Drinnon, Chemical
Sarah Hill, Industrial and Systems
Gavin Prather, Mechanical

100+ Women Strong Undergraduate Leadership Award
Gabrielle Gilmer, Chemical
Natalie Palmquist, Civil

100+ Women Strong Graduate Leadership Award
Elizabeth Devore, Electrical
Ferdous Finklea, Chemical

100+ Women Strong Study Abroad Award
Abigail Blankenship, Chemical
Paige Maxwell, Industrial and Systems

100+ Women Strong Graduate Student Fellowship
Andrea Henshall, Computer Science and Software
Eunji Lee, Materials

J. Alley Family Fellowship
Nathan Roberts, Chemical

Graduate Engineering Research Showcase poster winners
Thomas Teasley, Aerospace, 1st place
Elise Hall, Aerospace, 2nd place
Michael Bolt, Electrical and Computer, 3rd place

Mark A. Spencer Creative Mentorship Award
Matthew Preisser, Biosystems, Student
Brendan Higgins, Biosystems, Faculty


Outstanding Faculty Departmental Awards
David Cicci, Aerospace
Jonathan Davis, Biosystems
Joseph Shaeiwitz, Chemical
Molly Hughes, Civil
Michael Hollingsworth, Computer Science and Software
Victor Nelson, Electrical and Computer
Jeffrey Smith, Industrial and Systems
Ruel “Tony” Overfelt, Materials
Rick Williams, Mechanical

Fred H. Pumphrey Teaching Award
Rick Williams, Mechanical

William F. Walker Teaching Awards for Excellence
Joseph Shaeiwitz, Chemical, Superior
Richard Sesek, Industrial
and Systems, Merit
Anahita Ayasoufi, Mechanical, Merit

100+ Women Strong Leadership in Diversity Faculty/Staff Award
Lauren Beckingham, Civil

Auburn Alumni Engineering Council Research Awards for Excellence
Maria Auad and Wei-shinn Ku, Senior Award
David Blersch and Mark Schall,
Junior Award


Outstanding Alumni
Departmental Awards
Mike Tinker, Aerospace
Stephen Cobb, Biosystems
Brad Corson, Chemical
DeJarvis Leonard, Civil
Heather Avery, Computer Science and Software
Norman Tew, Electrical and Computer
Zeke Smith, Industrial and Systems
Nancy Weili Yu, Materials
Nicole Faulk, Mechanical
Mark Ackerman, Polymer and Fiber

Comments are closed.