Highest honors

Auburn Engineering students and alumni continue to receive some of the world’s most prestigious scholarships and fellowships.

The following students received prestigious awards, honorable mention or finalist honors this year:

Matthew Rogers, ’18 software engineering, became Auburn Engineering’s first Rhodes Scholar since 1949. Kasey Cooper, ’18 mechanical engineering, was also a finalist for the Rhodes Scholarship.

Cassie Jones, doctoral student in aerospace engineering, was awarded the National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate Fellowship, one of only 69 students in the nation to receive the honor.

Jill Joffe, ’18 aerospace engineering, will continue her studies at Purdue University in mechanical engineering as a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellow. Receiving honorable mentions in the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship competition were James Smith, graduate student in electrical and computer engineering; Brandon Morris, ’18 software engineering; and Griffin Eagan, ’18 aerospace engineering.

Chemical engineering major Jihyuk Kim and software engineering major Mina Narayanan received honorable mentions in the Goldwater Scholarship competition. Kaylee McCormack, ’17 chemical engineering, was a finalist for the Gates-Cambridge Scholarship.

Comments are closed.